NCWTS: Sauter Captures Win at Michigan

Johnny Sauter captured the victory on Saturday afternoon at the Michigan International Speedway after leading 21 of the 100 laps. Sauter captured at least one race win in the past six seasons, which the current all-time record is eight, held by Dennis Setzer. Today was the 10th time of the 2014 season that he has finished a race inside the top-10. Today’s race saw the fastest recorded average speed in a NASCAR Camping World Truck series event in the history of the series. The previous record was set in November of 2012 at the Texas Motor Speedway. Sauter will leave the Michigan International Speedway with the points lead.

Sauter’s teammate, Matt Crafton, came home with a second-place finish after also having a solid day. Crafton started the event from the 14th position after not having a great qualifying effort. He made his 13th career NASCAR Camping World Truck start at Michigan and earned his fourth top-10 finish there today. He leaves the 2.0-mile oval second in the series points standings. Crafton was 0.433 seconds behind his teammate when the 100-lap event was complete.

Ron Hornaday Jr. brought home his second best finish of the season so far today at the Michigan International Speedway by running up front most of the afternoon. Hornaday wasn’t able to lead any laps, but shown that he certainly deserves to race in the series. He started the event from the 17th spot and drove to a third-place finish. Today’s finish was his seventh top-10 finish at Michigan.

Kyle Busch, who started the race from 11th, took his No. 51 Toyota to a fifth-place finish after having some struggles throughout the event. Darrell Wallace Jr. also had problems today despite leading the most laps of the afternoon. He came home in the eleventh-position. Travis Kvapil looked to be a threat early on but he lost his engine seven laps into the race. He had to settle for the 26th spot.

The next race for the NASCAR Camping World Truck series will be at the Bristol Motor Speedway for the UNOH 200. Race can be seen Wednesday live on Fox Sports 1 at 8:30 p.m. Et. The Motor Racing Network will provide the live radio coverage of the race.


Brett Winningham
Follow Me