NCWTS: Darrell Wallace Jr. Wins Pole at Iowa Speedway

Darrell Wallace Jr. will start from the pole Friday night at the Iowa Speedway after positing a fast time of 22.946 seconds, 137.279 mph, with about 30 seconds remaining in the final round. The pole for Friday’s American Ethanol 200 marks his second of the year, with the first coming at the Martinsville Speedway in April, in which he went on to finish second in that event. He paced the one and only practice session for the series this morning, making him a fan-favorite to win the pole. Final practice was washed out after a little rain shower earlier in the afternoon.

Erik Jones, who drives the No. 51 when Kyle Busch doesn’t run in the series, will roll off from the second starting spot. Jones posted a fast time of 22.961 seconds, 137.189 mph. on his fourth of four laps turned around the 0.875-mile oval in the final round. He hopes Iowa Speedway will treat him well after a 23rd-place finish in his last start at the Gateway Motorsports Park. Joes was 0.015 seconds behind the pole sitter when the time expired.

Timothy Peters will roll off third tonight after a fast time of 23.010 seconds, 136.897 mph. in the final round of knockout qualifying. Peters best lap came on his first of four around the 0.875-mile Iowa Speedway. Tonight will mark his sixth time this season that the 32-year-old has started a race from inside the top-10. Peters hopes this will give him plenty of momentum to capture his third win in-a-row in July at Iowa. He was just 0.064 seconds behind Wallace’s fastest time.

One of the fan favorites, Ryan Blaney, will start tonight’s event from the fourth spot. ThorSport Racing trio, Jeb Burton, Matt Crafton and Johnny Sauter, will respectivly start from the 13th, sixth and 18th position. Tyler Young was the highest qualifying rookie, which ended up 15th on the speed chart.

There was only one caution for debris during the two rounds of qualifying on this Friday afternoon. Tonight’s race will air live on FOX Sports 1 at 8:00 p.m. Et. In addition, the Motor Racing Network will carry the live radio broadcast of the event.

Brett Winningham
Follow Me