Jimmie Kenneth Johnson, born on September 17, 1975, in El Cajon, California, embarked on a racing journey that began with motorcycles at the age of four and later transitioned to off-road racing. His NASCAR career kicked off in 2001, piloting the No. 48 Chevrolet for Hendrick Motorsports, and he secured his inaugural Cup Series victory at the NAPA Auto Parts 500 in Fontana, California, in 2002.

Johnson’s illustrious career boasts seven Cup championships, the first five being consecutive, a feat equaled only by Richard Petty and Dale Earnhardt. With 83 career points-paying victories, he ranks sixth among all-time Cup Series winners and third among those competing in the sport’s modern era (1972–present). Johnson clinched the Daytona 500 twice (2006, 2013) and triumphed in the Brickyard 400 four times (2006, 2008, 2009, 2012). Notably, he is the sole driver to conquer both the All-Star Race and the Daytona 500 in the same season, achieving this milestone in 2013.

Recognized for his consistency, work ethic, and ability to thrive under pressure, Johnson is also admired for adapting to diverse track conditions and making bold race decisions. His partnership with crew chief Chad Knaus played a pivotal role in their joint success, securing a record-tying seven championships and 81 victories with the No. 48 Chevrolet.

In 2020, Johnson announced his retirement from full-time racing, concluding his final season in 18th place in the standings. The culmination of his full-time career occurred at the 2023 Coca-Cola 600 in Charlotte, North Carolina.

Post-retirement, Johnson transitioned to Chip Ganassi Racing, competing in the IndyCar Series. He participated part-time in the series from 2021 to 2022, driving the No. 48 Honda. Additionally, Johnson sporadically engaged in sports car racing throughout his career.

His remarkable career garnered numerous awards, including being named the Associated Press Male Athlete of the Year in 2009 and earning Driver of the Year honors five times (2006, 2007, 2009, 2010, 2013). In 2020, Johnson received the Bill France Award of Excellence for his significant contributions to NASCAR. Recognized as one of NASCAR’s 75 Greatest Drivers in 2023, he is set to be inducted into the NASCAR Hall of Fame in 2024.