Daniel Suarez Wins NASCAR Mexico Series Event at LA Coliseum

The NASCAR Mexico Series joined the NASCAR Cup Series Saturday at LA Coliseum for a special double-header event. 21 total drivers made up the field for Saturday’s event that also featured Andres Perez de Lara, Max Gutierrez, and NASCAR Cup Series driver and former NASCAR Mexico Series competitor Daniel Suarez.

Julio Rejon dominated the practice charts Saturday while Ruben Garcia scored the pole. Garcia went on to lead 29 circuits of the feature event before later placing 16th. Rejon finished just outside the top 10 in 11th.

Daniel Suarez started sixth after sitting 14th in practice one and 11th in practice two. The NASCAR Cup Series veteran from Mexico took the lead on lap 67 for a circuit before Abraham Calderon took the spot away, pacing the field over the next 27 laps. Leading three circuits previously, Ruben Garcia then took the top spot from Calderon.

Suarez 26 circuits later got the lead back for 10 laps, followed by Calderon getting it again with 20 to go for a pair. Suarez drove around Calderon for the lead with 18 circuits to go to score the victory.

Santiago Tovar, Alex De Alba, Rogelio Lopez and Jacobo Cosio finished top five.

Eloy Sebastian, Xavi Razo, Perez de Lara, Max Gutierrez and Enrique Baca rounded out the top 10.

Brett Winningham
Follow Me