Five Racing Divisions Set To Entertain Fans Friday Night At Lincoln Speedway

Lincoln Speedway, located at the Logan County Fairgrounds in Lincoln, IL, is off to a great start for the 2020 racing season. After the first four events were canceled due to COVID-19, speedway officials decided to run every week, for the first six Fridays, to make up what was lost. The decision has worked out nicely as great fields of cars, solid crowds, and great racing has been a mainstay. It all continues this Friday night, July 10 with five divisions of action.

Action in the DIRTcar Pro Late Model class has been outstanding over the first four weeks, with three different winners finding victory lane. Springfield, IL driver Jake Little leads the standings by just two points over Ashland, IL’s Brandon Eskew. Colby Sheppard, Roben Huffman, and Braden Bilger round out the top five in points. Eskew has won two features, while Little and Jose Parga claimed the others. 38 different Pro Late Model competitors have been on track so far this season.

The DIRTcar Modified class has been historically great at Lincoln Speedway and this year has been no different. There is currently a tie at the top of the standings with Ray Bollinger of Kewanee, IL and Austin Lynn of Mason City, IL. Bollinger, however, tends to run a lot of the Summer National races which is likely to shake up the top of the standings. Bollinger has won the last two events, while Lynn and Donovan Lodge won the others. 45 different drivers have raced with the class in 2020.

The DIRTcar Street Stocks will be back for a third time this season, with bonus money on the line for the best average finishes between Lincoln Friday night and Macon Saturday night. Terry Reed of Cerro Gordo, IL and Robert Cottom, of Galesburg, IL have taken feature wins in 2020. The two events for Street Stocks have been highly competitive so we could very well see a third different winner this week.

The Nutech Seed DII Midgets are back this Friday night after an open competition Midget race was on track last week. Mark McMahill leads the standings by just two points over Tyler Roth. Andy Baugh, the perennial favorite, missed a week this year which puts him sixth in points. Baugh won two features and claimed the $500 Nutech Seed DII Front Row Challenge bonus two weeks ago. Will Armitage claimed the other feature win and sits third in points.

The division which may be the biggest surprise this year is the DIRTcar Hornet class, which has been packed with racers every Friday night. At the last event, 28 different drivers competed with the front wheel drive division. Erik Vanapeldoorn, of Clinton, IL, leads the points by ten over Dallas Strauch. Brady Reed, David Lauritson, and James Womeldorff round out the top five.

The Friday night, July 10 program will see pit gates opening at 3:00, grandstands at 5:00, pill draw ending at 5:50, hotlaps beginning at 6:00, and racing at 7:00. Grandstand admission is $15, while kids 11 and under are free.

Looking ahead to other upcoming events, Lincoln Speedway will host the MOWA 410 Winged Sprint Car Series season opener next Friday, July 17, POWRi National Midget Illinois Speedweek on August 2, and the DIRTcar Summer Nationals Graue Chevrolet Showdown on August 16.

Lincoln Speedway PR