A Special Day: The Inaugural Hickory Motor Speedway Reunion

For the first time since the historic .363-mile track opened in 1951 Hickory, N.C., native, GMS President and former HMS competitor Mike Beam – along with racing historian Phil Combs – have joined forces to host the inaugural 2019 Hickory Motor Speedway Reunion on Saturday, January 19 at the GMS Racing shop located on West Aviation Drive in Statesville, N.C. 


Drivers, crew members, and track officials from every decade of the track’s existence are expected to attend the event. Over 100 former drivers are expected to attend headlined by former track champions such at Tommy Houston and NASCAR Hall of Fame drivers Ned Jarrett and Jack Ingram. 


VIP guests will be allowed to enter at 10 a.m. with doors opening at 11 a.m. for the general public. A limited number of Hickory Motor Speedway posters courtesy of Hickory Motor Speedway and hero cards will be available. Fans will receive a ticket upon admission that can be redeemed for a poster or hero card during the event. Tickets will be distributed on a first come-first served basis only. 


Highlighting the day’s activities will be an unveiling of a car driven by the late Butch Lindley which Beam served on the crew for in the 1970s at HMS. A memorial service for former HMS competitor Clarence Ogle will also be held. Food vendors will be on site, and a driver autograph session will be held during the day.  



Schedule of events:

10 a.m. VIP/Media Meeting 

11 a.m. Doors open for fans and the general public 

11:20 a.m. Opening remarks from Mike Beam and Phil Combs 

11:25 a.m. Invocation by HMS chaplain John Abernathy & National Anthem 

11:30 a.m. Remarks from HMS Promoter Kevin Piercy 

11:35 a.m. Unveiling of Butch Lindley car 

Noon  Clarence Ogle Memorial Service 

12:30 p.m. HMS Organized Pictures 

                    A.     HMS Past Late Model Track Champions

                    B.     All past HMS track champions             

                    C.     All former Busch Series/Late Model Sportsman Drivers     

                    D.     Current & Former Miss HMS Beauty Queens         

                    E.     All previous HMS officials and employees     

1 p.m. Autograph Session (Collect tickets & distribute Posters & Hero Cards in front of line)

Adam Sinclair