Reunion of IndyCar Greats Highlights 25-Year Celebration at Phoenix Grand Prix

Reunions are always a special event, and when that reunion brings back some of the greatest IndyCar drivers of all time, it makes it even more significant.

Twenty-five years ago – on April 4, 1993 – Mario Andretti took the checkered flag in the Phoenix Grand Prix at ISM Raceway (formerly Phoenix Raceway), the final win of his illustrious career.  ISM Raceway will be celebrating the 25th anniversary of that historic win with a special reunion weekend April 6-7, 2018 for the Verizon IndyCar Series Phoenix Grand Prix.

That reunion will feature many of the drivers in the field on that day 25 years ago.  In addition to Andretti, others who were behind the wheel in that race and who will be a part of the festivities next month include Al Unser Jr., Bobby Rahal, Paul Tracy, Stephan Johannsen, Lyn St. James and Arie Luyendyk.

Fans attending this year’s Phoenix Grand Prix will have the chance to interact with all of these greats, who will take part in panel discussions and autograph sessions over the course of the weekend.  Many more drivers from the 1993 race are expected to be on hand as well, with announcements forthcoming over the next several weeks.

It was previously announced that the No. 6 Kmart/Texaco-Havoline Lola/Ford which Andretti piloted to Gatorade Victory Lane in that 1993 race, will make its triumphant return for this year’s Phoenix Grand Prix Verizon IndyCar Series race as well.

As part of the lead-up to the 25th anniversary celebration, ISM Raceway, the Verizon IndyCar series and Classic Racing Times are working together to honor the cars and drivers from the 1993 race.  That star-studded field consisted of some of the most successful open-wheel drivers of that era, including Al Unser Jr., Emerson Fittipaldi, Bobby Rahal, Arie Luyendyk, Paul Tracy, Robby Gordon, Eddie Cheever Jr., Scott Pruett and Jimmy Vassar.

Tickets for the 2018 Phoenix Grand Prix on April 7 at ISM Raceway are available and can be purchased through

ISM Raceway PR