Toyota Racing Driver Larson Takes East Series Title

Kyle Larson clinched his first career NASCAR K&N Pro Series East (NKNPSE) driver’s championship after finishing sixth in Saturday’s race at North Carolina’s Rockingham Speedway.

This season, Larson had two wins and 12 top-10 finishes in 14 races driving a Toyota Camry for Rev Racing.  The 19-year-old Elk Grove, Calif.-native posted victories at Georgia’s Gresham Motorsports Park (June 9) and at New Hampshire Motor Speedway (Sept. 22).  Along with his two wins, Larson finished second twice and earned a total of eight top-five results.

“I’ve been lucky a lot this year — just stayed consistent and got the championship,” said Larson, after the season-finale.  “It feels great.  I have to thank the whole Rev Racing team, Toyota and everyone that helps out on this team.”

Toyota drivers visited victory lane in seven of the 14 NKNPSE races this season.  In addition to Larson’s two wins, Camry drivers Brett Moffitt (two), Cale Conley (one), Nelson Piquet Jr.(one) and Darrell Wallace, Jr. (one) also visited victory lane.

It marks the sixth NASCAR regional series driver’s title for a Toyota driver.  Along with Larson’s title, Max Gresham earned the NKNPSE driver’s title last year and Ryan Truex picked up a pair of NKNPSE driver’s titles in 2009 and 2010.  In 2008 and 2010, Eric Holmes captured NASCAR K&N Pro Series West (NKNPSW) championships

“Kyle has demonstrated the ability to run consistently at the front of the field, competing for race wins each weekend en route to this championship,” said Lee White, president of TRD, U.S.A. (Toyota Racing Development.  “NASCAR’s regional series provide a great opportunity for drivers of all ages and experience.  On behalf of everyone at Toyota, I would like to congratulate Kyle and everyone at Rev Racing on an outstanding season.”

Toyota drivers have previously captured four driver’s championships in two of NASCAR’s premier series — Todd Bodine (2006 and 2010) and Johnny Benson (2008) in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series (NCWTS), and Kyle Busch (2009) in the Nationwide Series.

Toyota Racing PR