Chevrolet NTT Indycar Series Indianapolis 500: It Is Go Time! Preparations Begin in Earnest for “the Greatest Spectacle in Racing”

Fresh off two NTT INDYCAR SERIES victories in a row, Chevrolet drivers turn their attention to the 2.5-mile Indianapolis Motor Speedway oval and “The Greatest Spectacle in Racing.”
Practice for the 105th Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge begins Tuesday, May 18.
Chevrolet’s 18-car Indianapolis 500 lineup includes three past winners, four race rookie of the year award winners, two pole winners, two rookies, and the winners of the past two NTT INDYCAR SERIES races.
Following the six scheduled practice sessions totaling 26 hours, drivers backed by the powerful 2.2-liter, twin-turbocharged, direct-injected Chevrolet V6 engine will aim to claim the NTT P1 Award for the seventh time since the Bowtie brand returned to engine manufacturer competition in 2012.
NBC and NBCSN will telecast qualifications to set the 33-car field on Saturday, May 22, and Sunday, May 23.
Chevrolet front-row starters since 2012
2019: First – Simon Pagenaud. Second – Ed Carpenter. Third – Spencer Pigot
2018: First – Ed Carpenter. Second – Simon Pagenaud. Third – Will Power
2017: Second – Ed Carpenter
2016: Second – Josef Newgarden
2015: First – Scott Dixon. Second – Will Power. Third – Simon Pagenaud
2014: First — Ed Carpenter. Third – Will Power
2013: First – Ed Carpenter. Second – Carlos Munoz. Third – Marco Andretti
2012: First – Ryan Briscoe. Second – James Hinchcliffe. Third – Ryan Hunter-Reay
Simon Pagenaud, who will drive the No. 22 Menards Team Penske Chevrolet, turned his pole start into victory in 2019. Will Power, who will drive the No. 12 Verizon 5G Team Penske Chevrolet, won in 2018, while Juan Pablo Montoya won in 2015 and 2000. Montoya will drive the No. 86 Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet.
Rinus VeeKay will attempt to join Pagenaud and Power in sweeping the Month of May races at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. VeeKay, who will drive the No. 21 Bitcoin Chevrolet for Ed Carpenter Racing, earned his first Series victory May 15 in the GMR Grand Prix on the 3.439-mile,14-turn IMS road course. VeeKay paced Chevrolet drivers in the 2020 Indy 500 by qualifying fourth in his rookie run.
“I’m very keen to try to sweep the month of May. That’s of course my goal,” said VeeKay, 20, of The Netherlands. “The mentality and everyone’s confidence is super high at the team, so I think we can definitely go for that win. We’ve had an awesome car last year, and Ed Carpenter Racing has showed the last few years that they have the car to win the ‘500’. I feel super confident.
“First race win takes a lot of pressure off. Now I can just drive the ‘500’, and now it’s just going to be focusing on the best possible result. I want to thank Ed Carpenter Racing for everything they’ve done for me so far, and Chevy for the great engines. Indy 500 coming up, lots of power, lots of speed. I’m sure we’ll be good.”
Overall, Chevrolet has 11 victories in the Indy 500 and another six have been recorded by General Motors’ brands. It’s also the 100th anniversary of Tommy Milton winning the Indy 500 in a car owned by company co-founder Louis Chevrolet.
Simona De Silvestro, the 2010 Indianapolis 500 Rookie of the Year, returns for the first time since 2015 in the No. 16 Rocket Pro Chevrolet for the team owned by Beth Paretta.
Pato O’Ward, the 2020 Indy 500 Rookie of the Year, claimed his initial Series victory May 1 on the Texas Motor Speedway oval in the No. 5 Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet. JR Hildebrand, runner-up in his first ‘500’ start and Montoya are also former rookie of the year winners who will rely on Chevrolet power this year.
Scott McLaughlin, driving the No. 3 Pennzoil Team Penske Chevrolet, and RC Enerson in the No. 75 Top Gun Racing Chevrolet are among the three Indy 500 rookies. McLaughlin has three top-10 finishes in the five NTT INDYCAR SERIES races, including runner-up at Texas Motor Speedway in his first oval race.
NBC will telecast the 200-lap race at 11 a.m. ET Sunday, May 30. The 2021 mid-engine Chevrolet Corvette Stingray hardtop convertible will lead the field to the green flag. The 2021 race marks the 32nd time for Chevrolet to pace dating to 1948, and the 18th time since 1978 for America’s favorite sports car.
JR Hildebrand, No. 1 ABC Supply/AJ Foyt Racing
Josef Newgarden, No. 2 Shell Fuel Rewards Team Penske
Scott McLaughlin, No. 3 Pennzoil Team Penske
Dalton Kellett, No. 4 K-Line Insulators/AJ Foyt Racing
Pato O’Ward, No. 5 Arrow McLaren SP
Felix Rosenqvist, No. 7 Vuse Arrow McLaren SP
Charlie Kimball, No. 11 Tresiba/AJ Foyt Racing
Will Power, No. 12 Verizon 5G Team Penske
Sebastien Bourdais, No. 14 ROKiT/AJ Foyt Racing
Simona De Silvestro, No. 16 Rocket Pro/Paretta Autosport
Ed Carpenter, No. 20 SONAX Ed Carpenter Racing
Rinus VeeKay, No. 21 Bitcoin Ed Carpenter Racing
Simon Pagenaud, No. 22 Menards Team Penske
Sage Karam, No. 24 DRR-AES Indiana Dreyer & Reinbold Racing
Conor Daly, No. 47 U.S. Air Force Ed Carpenter Racing
Max Chilton, No. 59 Gallagher Carlin
RC Enerson, No. 75 Top Gun Racing
Juan Pablo Montoya, No. 86 Arrow McLaren SP
Team Chevy PR