Xfinity, Truck Series champions crowned in Charlotte

09 Dec 2018
839 times
Getty Images for NASCAR Getty Images for NASCAR

Saturday night belonged to the champions of the NASCAR Xfinity Series (Tyler Reddick) and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series (Brett Moffitt).

Reddick was honored for his NASCAR Xfinity Series title driving the No. 9 Chevrolet for JR Motorsports.

"This year was a big character-building year for me and it's a great honor to bring JR Motorsports its third NASCAR Xfinity Series championship," Reddick said in his championship speech.

Reddick bookended his season with victories at Daytona in February and winning the season finale race at Homestead-Miami.

"With each race, he handled his business. He was aggressive and did everything he needed to do. Just really impressed with him. Looking forward to seeing what he can do next year at RCR. It's going to be fun to race against him," Dale Earnhardt Jr.said when presented with the championship owner award in the Xfinity Series.

Reddick will defend his 2018 crown with Richard Childress Racing in 2019.

Brett Moffitt was honored for his championship in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series. Moffitt surged to six wins with Hattori Racing Enterprises in 2018. The championship was also the first for team owner Shigeaki Hattori.

"When the 2018 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series kicked off in February, our Hattori Racing team only had four races on the schedule," Brett Moffitt said during his championship speech. "So to be standing here today in front of you as the 2018 champion is truly an honor and quite unbelievable."

Moffitt who was released by Hattori Racing Enterprises following his championship season said that he's still working on his plans for the 2019 season.

Both Tyler Reddick and Brett Moffitt received thier championship ring and Goodyear presented each driver with a silver replica of their car and truck.

2018 Monster Energy Cup Series champion Joey Logano was also honored with the 2018 Comcast Community Champion Award. Each of the championship 4 drivers in both the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series (Noah Gragson, Justin Haley, Johnny Sauter) and NASCAR Xfinity Series (Cole Custer, Daniel Hemric, Christopher Bell) each gave speeches discussing their 2018 season.

Below is a list of the awards that were handed out on Saturday night:

Camping World Truck Series

Mahle Engine Builder of the Year: Victor Garcia, llmor Engines

Duralast Brake in the Race Award: Noah Gragson, No. 18 Kyle Busch Motorsports Toyota

Mobil 1 Driver of the Year: Johnny Sauter, No. 21 GMS Racing Chevrolet

Sunoco Rookie of the Year: Myatt Snider, No. 13 ThorSport Racing Ford

Manufacturer Championship: Chevrolet

Champion Sponsor: AISIN Group

Champion Crew Chief Award: Scott Zipadelli, No. 16 Hattori Racing Enterprises Toyota

Champion: Brett Moffitt, No. 16 Hattori Racing Enterprises Toyota


Xfinity Series

Mahle Engine Builder of the Year: Doug Yates, Roush Yates Engines

Duralast Brake in the Race Award: Daniel Hemric, No. 21 Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet

Mobil 1 Driver of the Year: Christopher Bell, No. 20 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota

Sunoco Rookie of the Year: Tyler Reddick, No. 9 JR Motorsports Chevrolet 

Manufacturer Championship: Chevrolet 

Champion Car Owner Award: No. 00 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford

Champion Crew Chief Award: David Elenz, No.9 JR Motorsports Chevrolet

Champion Owner Award: Dale Earnhardt Jr., JR Motorsports

Champion: Tyler Reddick, No. 9 JR Motorsports Chevrolet

Rate this item
(0 votes)
Matthew Jackson

Hi, my name is Matthew I'm 18 from Charlotte, NC. Racing has been something that has interested me my whole life. As a kid my dad would always take me to each of the Charlotte races and the adrenaline you get watching NASCAR's best drivers go around is one like no other. My goal as a writer is to give you the best information possible. 

Cookies make it easier for us to provide you with our services. With the usage of our services you permit us to use cookies.
Ok Decline