Mopar Nitro Jam Rocky Mountain Nationals Presented by Good Vibrations Final Results

The Mopar Rocky Mountain Nationals presented by Good Vibrations concluded today at Castrol Raceway. The 13th running of the IHRA Nitro Jam brought about a first-time winner this year and a couple of repeat winners, including Jason Rupert who had back-to-back wins. 

Jason Rupert went up against points leader Mike McIntire Jr. in the final round and landed in the winner’s circle with a holeshot win in the AMSOIL Funny Car presented by Good Vibrations class. Rupert posted a .049 reaction time, 5.704 seconds at 253.38 mph against McIntire’s .089, 5.698 second at 255.39 mph. This marked only the second time Rupert had gone up against McIntire in the finals this year. Their first encounter was at the season-opener in Tucson when Rupert fouled at the line and McIntire took the win. Rupert’s latest victory came just last weekend when he won against Kris Krabill at Spokane County Raceway.

Edmonton, Alberta resident Kevin Boyer took home the IronMan in the Nitro Harley class. The Mopar Rocky Mountain Nationals presented by Good Vibrations was the first Nitro Jam event Boyer had entered this season and his consistency paid off.  He posted a 6.53, 6.59 and 6.60 E.T.’s in his three elimination rounds and went up against Craig Pelrine in the final round. Boyer had a .089 reaction, 6.60 second run at 199.91 mph against Pelrine’s.114 reaction, 6.698 second run at 203.44.

Kat Moller won her second IronMan trophy of the year at Castrol Raceway. She went up against Elaine Larson in the final Jet Dragster round. Moller ran the top E.T. and speed of the weekend on the final run with a .1211 reaction, 5.95 at 270.27 mph. Larsen posted a .2816 reaction time at 6.02 seconds, 265.49 mph.

Three special classes ran over the weekend at the Mopar Rocky Mountain Nationals presented by Good Vibrations. The Top Fuel Dragsters made their second appearance of the season and Bruce Litton walked away victorious after switching from his Nitro Funny Car to the Top Fuel Dragster. He posted a 5.05 second run at 286.08 mph against Jenna Haddock’s 5.03 at 248.21 mph. The number one qualifier in the Pro 690 class also was declared the winner. Caleb Tebb went up against Joey Steckler and won with a 7.019, 191.82 mph pass down the drag strip. In the Pro Mod class, Glen Kerunsky took the win over Ross Hogenson with a 6.275 second, 230.65 mph pass.  

To view round-by-round results of the Mopar Rocky Mountain Nationals presented by Good Vibrations, please click here.  


Next up on the schedule for the Nitro Jam Drag Racing Series is the Northern Nationals presented by Aeromotive at U.S. 131 Motorsports Park on August 7 – 8. For more information or to purchase tickets, please visit, or call (269) 672-7800(.  

Adam Sinclair