Subaru Rally Team USA’s Sverre Isachsen Wins Red Bull Global Rallycross Seattle

Sverre Isachsen scored Subaru Rally Team USA’s first-ever Red Bull Global Rallycross victory in front of a sellout crowd at DirtFish Rally School in Snoqualmie, WA, in Saturday’s Red Bull Global Rallycross Seattle. Isachsen, a three-time European rallycross champion, earned the victory over new series points leader Joni Wiman, and Brian Deegan. 

“It is really important for the team,” said Isachsen. “We never gave up on developing this car—it takes time. You do something wrong, but then you do something right, and then of course today we had a fast car. It’s huge for everybody, all the Subaru guys.” 

A thrilling main event saw points leader Ken Block, starting from pole, clip a barrier upon entering the joker lane in the first corner, allowing Isachsen to get by while Block bounced into two-time series champion Tanner Foust. Wiman, who started from the outside front row and elected to save his joker, fought his way back into second place to take his third consecutive podium finish. 

“We worked hard, and the second half of the season has been really good,” Wiman said. “It’s amazing to lead the championship. I’m so happy and it feels amazing, and I want to go!” 

In GRC Lites, Mitchell DeJong clinched the 2014 championship by virtue of starting the event, mathematically eliminating all other drivers from contention. The 17-year-old celebrated in the best way possible by earning his sixth victory and third perfect weekend (he was fastest in qualifying and the winner of both of his heats) of the year. Austin Cindric and Alejandro Fernandez completed the podium. 


Full results from Red Bull Global Rallycross Seattle are as follows:


1.    Sverre Isachsen, #11 Subaru Rally Team USA WRX STI

2.    Joni Wiman, #31 Olsbergs MSE Ford Fiesta ST

3.    Brian Deegan, #38 Rockstar Energy Drink Ford Fiesta ST

4.    Nelson Piquet Jr., #75 SH Racing Rallycross Ford Fiesta ST

5.    Rhys Millen, #67 Hyundai/Rhys Millen Racing Hyundai Veloster

6.    Scott Speed, #77 Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross Polo

7.    Patrik Sandell, #18 Olsbergs MSE Ford Fiesta ST

8.    David Higgins, #715 Subaru Rally Team USA WRX STI

9.    Ken Block, #43 Hoonigan Racing Division Ford Fiesta ST

10. Tanner Foust, #34 Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross Beetle

11. Steve Arpin, #00 Royal Purple Racing/OMSE2 Ford Fiesta

12. Austin Dyne, #14 Barracuda Racing Ford Fiesta

13. Emma Gilmour, #27 Hyundai/Rhys Millen Racing Hyundai Veloster

14. Bucky Lasek, #81 Subaru Rally Team USA WRX STI


Unofficial points through nine of 10 rounds are as follows:


1.    Joni Wiman, 332 points

2.    Ken Block, 320

3.    Nelson Piquet Jr., 304

4.    Scott Speed, 303

5.    Sverre Isachsen, 247


Adam Sinclair