Scott Speed, Rhys Millen Take Victories in Red Bull Global Rallycross Los Angeles Doubleheader

Scott Speed won his third race of the 2014 Red Bull Global Rallycross season and Rhys Millen became the second multiple winner in the Supercar class this year at Red Bull Global Rallycross Los Angeles, held at the Port of Los Angeles in San Pedro, CA. The only doubleheader of the series’ 2014 season, the race served as the seventh and eighth rounds of the championship and a return to the sport’s home base.

The first points-paying round took place on Friday and Saturday, with the remaining racing taking place in Sunday’s show. Speed dominated the first round in the #77 Volkswagen Polo R, posting the second-fastest time in qualifying before winning both heats on the way to the final. Behind him, Joni Wiman earned the second position for his best run of the year, while Ken Block completed the podium.

“So far this Polo has been quite reliable,” said Speed after Saturday’s win, who used teammate Tanner Foust’s former car as Foust debuted the Beetle in the event. “Hopefully that continues for the rest of the races, and for sure that will give us a shot at the championship.”

Saturday’s result put all three drivers, plus Nelson Piquet Jr., within 10 points of one another heading into Sunday. From there, Millen was the star of the show, qualifying third, winning his semifinal and taking a dominant victory over Block and Wiman in the main event.

“To sum it up, it’s been testing,” Millen said of his recent success. “We’ve had time to go to the events, not only to compete, but to go a week early and actually develop the car. We found the right combination in Charlotte, got it right in Daytona, and followed it up this weekend. So really it’s just hard work and sweat that’s got the car running fast.”

In GRC Lites, Olsbergs MSE teammates Kevin Eriksson and Mitchell DeJong split the weekend’s finals. Eriksson won on Saturday, while DeJong used the joker on the last lap to win Sunday’s final by .04 seconds.

When all was said and done, Block seized the championship lead outright by 18 points over the rookie Wiman, with Speed and Piquet both within striking distance as the series heads to DirtFish Rally School in Snoqualmie, WA for Red Bull Global Rallycross Seattle on September 26-27.

Results from Saturday’s final are as follows:

1.      Scott Speed, #77 Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross Polo R

2.      Joni Wiman, #31 Olsbergs MSE Ford Fiesta ST

3.      Ken Block, #43 Hoonigan Racing Division Ford Fiesta ST

4.      Rhys Millen, #67 Hyundai/Rhys Millen Racing Veloster Turbo

  1. Patrik Sandell, #18 Olsbergs MSE Ford Fiesta ST


Results from Sunday’s final are as follows:

1.      Rhys Millen, #67 Hyundai/Rhys Millen Racing Veloster Turbo

2.      Ken Block, #43 Hoonigan Racing Division Ford Fiesta ST

3.      Joni Wiman, #31 Olsbergs MSE Ford Fiesta ST

4.      Sverre Isachsen, #11 Subaru Rally Team USA WRX STI

5.      Bucky Lasek, #81 Subaru Rally Team USA WRX STI


Red Bull Global Rallycross Supercar points through 8 of 10 races are as follows:

  1. Ken Block, 299 points
  2. Joni Wiman, 281
  3. Scott Speed, 275
  4. Nelson Piquet Jr., 265
  5. Patrik Sandell, 216
Adam Sinclair