NASCAR WIRE: Countdown to the DAYTONA 500: 1 day to go

1: The anticipation could not be higher as fans, teams and drivers prepare for the 66th running of the DAYTONA 500 tomorrow afternoon. Not only is The Great American Race considered No. 1 on the race calendar, the No. 1 car has won the DAYTONA 500 just once.

Driver Jamie McMurray piloted the No. 1 Earnhardt Ganassi Racing Chevrolet to the victory in 2010. Also worth noting, The No. 1 starting position has also been fortuitous in the Great American Race, producing more winners (nine) than any other position. Plus, the last three race winners – Austin Cindric, Michael McDowell and Ricky Stenhouse Jr. – all won their first Daytona 500. – Holly Cain 

Tune-in to the 2024 DAYTONA 500 on Sunday, February 18 at 2:30 p.m. ET on FOX, MRN and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio.