Fruitful decade

Time flies when you’re winning races.

A decade has passed since Toyota made its first foray into one of NASCAR’s top three national series. The automaker entered NASCAR Camping World Truck Series competition in 2004 and began its participation in both the NASCAR Sprint Cup and NASCAR Nationwide Series in 2007.

To say the least, Toyota has enjoyed a successful first decade. Toyota drivers have won 263 races in that span — 63 in NASCAR Sprint Cup, 88 in NASCAR Nationwide and 112 in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series.

The first 10 years have produced nine manufacturers’ championships, six in trucks and three in NASCAR Nationwide. About the only significant items missing from the

Toyota resume are a manufacturers’ title and a champion driver and owner in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series.

Matt Kenseth came close last year, winning a series-best seven races before finishing second to six-time champion Jimmie Johnson in the final standings.