Herring to Make Truck Series Debut In KBM's No. 18 Tundra at Iowa

Kyle Busch Motorsports (KBM) announced today that Drew Herring will make his NASCAR Camping World Truck Series debut driving the team's flagship No. 18 Tundra in the American Ethanol 200 at Iowa Speedway in Newton on Sept. 15.

Herring has eight career starts in the NASCAR Nationwide Series (NNS), including an 11th-place finish after qualifying fifth in his most recent start at Iowa Speedway last August. Last season, the Benson, N.C. native finished 12th or better in all four of his NNS starts for Joe Gibbs Racing, collecting two top-10 finishes while leading 39 laps and completing all 929 laps available.

"I'm very thankful for the opportunity to be making my Camping World Truck Series debut in the No. 18 Toyota for Kyle Busch Motorsports," said Herring, who also serves as a test driver for KBM's NNS team. "KBM is the premiere team in the series -- I know that Eric Phillips and the guys will be providing me with top-notch equipment and all the information I need to make my transition to the trucks an easy one. Iowa Speedway is a track that I've had success at in both the Nationwide Series and the ProCup Series, so I feel like it's the perfect place for me to be getting behind the wheel of a truck for the first time."  

"Everyone at Joe Gibbs Racing speaks very highly of Drew, and from having him around our Nationwide Series team for some races this year, I've learned that he's a very knowledgeable young man," KBM general manager Rick Ren said. "Iowa is a track that he is already comfortable getting around and he'll get some more laps around there when he practices our Monster Energy Camry for Kurt (Busch) next week. Our job will be to educate him on the differences in the feel of a Nationwide car versus the truck, but I think that he'll adapt very quickly and have a strong run for us."

The addition of Herring completes the driver lineup on the No. 18 Tundra for the 2012 season. Jason Leffler will drive the truck in six of the remaining 12 races, Brian Scott will be behind the wheel four more times while Herring and Denny Hamlin will each compete in one race.  For a complete schedule of which races each will drive, go to www.kylebuschmotorsports.com/schedule.


Rate this item
(0 votes)
Steven B. Wilson

Follow us on Twitter @SpeedwayDigest

Cookies make it easier for us to provide you with our services. With the usage of our services you permit us to use cookies.
Ok Decline