Austin Dillon is Crowned 2011 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Champion

Austin Dillon – driver of the No. 3 Bass Pro Shops/Tracker Boats Silverado and grandson of team owner Richard Childress – is the 2011 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series champion, clinching Team Chevy’s 11th series driver’s title with a 10th-place finish in the rain-shortened, season-ending Ford 200 at Homestead-Miami Speedway on Friday.

“Everyone at Chevrolet is extremely proud of Austin Dillon’s accomplishment this year,” said Jim Campbell, Chevrolet U.S. Vice President of Performance Vehicles and Motorsports. “Throughout his young career, he has proven himself to be a very talented driver. After winning the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Rookie of Year in his 2010 debut, to come back and win the championship this year clearly demonstrates the bright future Austin has in NASCAR.

"We are very proud of our long partnership with Richard Childress Racing and couldn't be more pleased to be a part of every victory and every championship Richard's teams have won."

Dillon, 21, led the series with five poles, and added two wins, 10 top-fives and 16 top-10s in 25 races this season.

Dillon, who carried a 20-point lead into the season finale’, is the sixth Team Chevy driver to win the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series championship, joining Ron Hornaday Jr. (2009, 2007, 1998 and 1996), Jack Sprague (2001, 1999, and 1997), Travis Kvapil (2003), Mike Bliss (2002) and Mike Skinner (1995).

This is Childress’ second NASCAR Camping World Truck Series championship; Mike Skinner won the first in the series’ inaugural season, 1995 – also in the No. 3. Childress also won six NASCAR Sprint Cup championships with Dale Earnhardt (1986, 1987, 1990, 1991, 1993 and 1994).

“It’s been a very successful season for Team Chevy in the Camping World Truck Series,” Campbell said. “We’d also like to congratulate Kevin Harvick Inc. on winning the Owners’ Championship. What a way for KHI to close out a tremendous 10-year run in the series.

“In addition, our congratulations to Joey Coulter for winning the Series’ Sunoco Rookie of the Year.”

Chevrolet earlier clinched the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Manufacturers’ Championship for the seventh time.

Tonight’s season-finale was won by Johnny Sauter, No. 13 SafeAuto/Curb Records Silverado.

GM Racing PR