Erik Jones on pole for Mudsummer Classic

Wednesday, Jul 23 1311

Kyle Busch Motorsports (KBM) driver Erik Jones continued to shine by winning the pole for the Mudsummer Classic Wednesday.

Jones first set the fastest time in qualifying around the half-mile Eldora Speedway with a time of 19.913 seconds (90.312 mph).  The 18-year-old driver then won the first heat race to capture the pole for the main feature.

Jeb Burton went on to win a heat race for the second straight year in the second heat.  The streak of starting first in the heats continued to race three with Ron Hornaday picking up the victory

Ryan Blaney broke the pole-sitter streak with a victory in the fourth heat as Johnny Sauter did the same with a win in the fifth heat race.

Each heat race had one transfer spot for drivers not locked into the main feature yet.  J.R. Heffner took the spot in the first heat and will make his Truck Series debut in the Mudsummer Classic Wednesday night.

Like Heffner, Mike Affarano will also run his first truck race by getting the transfer spot in heat two.

Both Dillon brothers, Austin and Ty, weren’t locked in but both got the spot in the third and fourth heats respectively.

Last year’s pole-sitter Ken Schrader took the final transfer spot for drivers not locked in the fifth heat.

Norm Benning got the final spot in last year’s Last Chance Qualifier (LCQ) by holding off Clay Greenfield by beating and banging for the transfer spot.  The Pennsylvania driver grabbed the attention of everyone and had to do it again through this year’s LCQ.

Both Jennifer Jo and her father Joe Cobb were also looking for spots in the main feature, but it didn’t happen.  Joe spun several times during the LCQ and Jennifer just fell short.

John Wes Townely won the LCQ while Tyler Young recovered from a spin in the race to finish second.

Jody Knowles found his way into the feature with a third-place finish.  Benning came in fourth and advanced to the Mudsummer Classic for the second straight year in his first race driving the No. 6.

print Cup Series rookie Michael Annett fought off a hard-charging Cody Erickson for the final transfer spot.  Erickson gave it one last chance and bumped with Annett and just narrowly missed the show.

Four trucks will go home including Erickson, both Cobbs and Jared Landers, who had to withdraw from the LCQ after wrecking during time trials.

The green-flag for the Mudsummer Classic will drop at 9 p.m. ET on FOX Sports 1.

Kyle Magda

Currently, I’m a journalism student in college who enjoys the sport of racing. I've been following NASCAR in-depth since 2001.

Along with my love of racing, I’m also into baseball, football (college & pro), and college basketball.

I also have my own website, The Life of Kyle, where I write about various topics.

And to get my feet wet into radio, I have my own show called Overdrive.  I started it with my friend.  Since we can’t record together most of the time, we have our own versions.  I cover NASCAR and ARCA, and he takes Formula One and IndyCar.

Not forgetting to mention, I have my own YouTube channel as well.

As for race tracks, I’ve gone to races at Pocono, Watkins Glen, Daytona, Dover, Loudon and a few local short tracks as well.  I hope to cross the Indianapolis 500 off my list in the future. I hope to become a man of many hats.