Grays Harbor Raceway Crowns 2011 Champions

Jack Fordyce Monday, Dec 12 6376

Grays Harbor Raceway crowned their 2011 series champions Saturday night at their annual awards banquet held at the Microtel Inn in Elma.

Joe German of Aberdeen (Ship Wreck Beads Modifieds), Zack Simpson of Hoquiam (Cut Rate Auto Parts Hobby Stocks), Henry VanDam of Enumclaw (Whitney's Auto Group  360 sprints) and Reece Goetz of Snohomish (Triple X Racing Ford focus Midgets) all picked up their championship trophies.

It was the first ever series championship for the Aberdeen driver, who was a model of consistency all season long at Grays Harbor Raceway. German edged out two former series champions on the final night of the season, Craig Moore of Seabeck (2001) and Scott Miller of Shelton (2000, 2004, 2005, and 2007). German accomplished the feat as only the second driver in Grays Harbor Raceway history to win the season championship with out winning a main event.

Simpson set a record in 2011 that will be hard to beat. He became the first driver in Grays Harbor Raceway history to win five consecutive series Championships surpassing George Wixson (1965-1968), and the late Mike Zvono (1985-1988). Simpson also picked a fifth place trophy in the Modifieds this year as he did double duty in both classes, and earned Rookie of The Year honors in the Modifieds.

VanDam edged out seven time series champion Jay Cole for his first series Championship. VanDam is often referred as the second most famous driver from Enumclaw, the other being Kasey Khane, who raced at Grays Harbor Raceway before moving on to NASCAR.

Goetz turned in one of the most dominating performances of any driver in the history of the Harbor track. He won all but three of the main events during the season. Two times by Garret Johnson of Poulsbo and the other time by Garrett Thomas of McCleary. Goetz also picked up a third place trophy in the 360 Sprints along with rookie of the Year honors in the Sprints. Thomas earned Rookie of The Year honors in the Midgets.

Will Madison of Port Angeles and Ryen Haney of Elma were named as (Co-Rookie of The Year) in the Hobby Stocks.

Final Point Standings

360 Sprints. VanDam-2298, Cole-229.5, Goetz-1997, Randy VanAagten-1748, Mitch Olson-1656, Jared Peterson-1167, Cody ridge-1164, Steve Vague-1120, JJ Hickle-1049, TJ Hartman-1032.5.

Midgets. Goetz-3410, Seth Hespe-3009, Ariel Biggs-2909, Jeremy Miller-2784, Garrett Thomas-2569, Todd Hartman-2567, Garret Johnson-2492, Zak DeBakker-2432, Anika Johanson-2120, Renee Angel-1970.

Modifieds. German-2245, Moore-2201.5, Miller-2172.5, Jeff foster-2079.5, Simpson-1955, Randy Ward-1952.5, David Burns-1830.5, Del Schnitzer-179.5, David Bottoms-1708.5, Chris Beaulieu-1690.

Hobby Stocks. Simpson-2231, Eddie Blood-1906.5, Jay biggs-1850, Haney-1832.5, Brian Izzi-1819.5, Madison-1751, Renney Marose-1666, Tom Hecker-1607, Tom Sweatman-1527, Cory Sweatman-1506.5.

Photo: (L-R) Trophy girl Emily Jacobi, Zack Simpson (Hobby Stocks), Reece Goetz (Midgets), Henry VanDam (Sprints), Joe German (Modifieds), trophy girl Amanda Brown.

Grays Harbor Raceway PR