ASA Racing Has A Great Groups of Female Drivers This Season

Thursday, Nov 10 7146

ASA Racing had some breakthroughs this season at their ASA Member Tracks and sanctioned series.  For the first time ever, a female driver won the ASA NSRA Series championship.  A female driver won the West Region ASA Joe Gibbs Driven Racing Oil Member Track Championship. The ASA Midwest Tour had their first female winner, and many ASA Member Tracks had female division champions.

Sierra Jackson held off two former champions to win her first ASA Northwest Sprintcar Racing Series (NSRA) championship.  Not only was she the first female, she was also the youngest and drove the first Ford powered sprint car to win the championship.

Jackson, from Meridian, ID, won the championship by eleven points over former two-time champion Matt Hein and by 38 points over defending champion Andy Alberding.  One of her highlights was that she also became the first female champion of the prestigious Diamond Cup event at Meridian Speedway, an ASA Member Track in Meridian, ID. She is sharing that championship with Matt Hein, as they both were tied at the end of the two-day race event.

If that is not all, Jackson came within 28 points of winning the Winged Sprint car season championship at Meridian Speedway.  Mike Murgoitio was able to hold off Jackson to win the title. 

Chrissy Wallace came into the 2011 season by hitting the “reset” button on her racing career, and it paid off for her.  The daughter of recent NASCAR Camping World Truck Series winner Mike Wallace went back to the track that helped start her father and uncles’ career. 

Wallace, who resides in Concord, NC, competed this season at Lebanon I-44 Speedway, an ASA Member Track in Lebanon, MO.   It didn’t take long for her to become the first female to win a feature race there, but she held off some strong competition to become the first ever-female champion. 

In 19 starts, she had six wins, 12 top-five and 16 top-ten finishes in which she finished third overall in the ASA Joe Gibbs Driven Racing Oil Member Track National Championship and won the West Region title.

Since capturing the title she competed in the final ARCA event of the season where she finished eleventh and is hoping to move up to the higher levels of racing next season. 

Stephanie Losiniecki put her name in the record books back on June 3, 2011, as she became the first female to win an ASA Midwest Sportsman Tour event at Grundy County Speedway in Morris, IL.  The Slinger, WI driver held off Chris Marek, the two-time series champion for the win. 

Losiniecki finished the season fourth in points with one win, one fast time, two top-five and three top-ten finishes in six starts. 

Some ASA Member Tracks also had female track champions this season.  The list, so far, includes…

Megan LeStourgeon – Bombers, Corpus Christi Speedway, Corpus Christi, TX
Lisa Sandoval – Texas Thunders, Corpus Christi Speedway, Corpus Christi, TX
Melissa Weaver – Street Stocks, Meridian Speedway, Meridian, ID
Kori Combs – Mini Cups, Rocky Mountain Raceways, West Valley City, UT

“We are very proud to have a great group of female champions under the ASA banner this season,” Dennis Huth, ASA President said.  “This shows the diversity of competitors we have racing at all short tracks across the United States.  These drivers are great role models for young females today.  Congratulations to each of them on their success this season.”

ASA Racing PR