NNS: Keselowski Wins Homestead, Austin Dillon Captures Championship

Brad Keselowski drove to a victory last evening in the NASCAR Nationwide Series season finale by leading 25 of the 200 scheduled laps. Keselowski captured his seventh race win of the year in the series for his 10th top-10 finish this year. It also became his 27th win in 205 starts. By this win last night, Keselowski gave Ford the manufactures championship in the NNS.

“It was just good racing. We were going to have a shot to win it without taking tires but it was going to be difficult,” said Keselowski. “The 32 was awesome, he ran a great race today. That late race restart was key. We came in and put tires on with 20 to go and that yellow was out for 14 or 15 laps and I didn’t think we were going to have a shot at it but we got the right restart and made our way through. I am going to have to watch the in car camera because that was one hell of a ride for 10 laps. Be glad there wasn’t a passenger with me because they would have been screaming the whole way, I know I was.”

Kyle Larson had a strong run last night by coming home in the second spot. Larson led the most laps of the Ford EcoBoost 200 of 54. By finishing in the second position last night he earned his 17th top-10 finish of 2013. Larson also captured the Sunoco Rookie of the Year after a great season in the No. 32 Chevrolet. He earned 9 top-fives and 17 top-10 finishes in 2013.

Kyle Busch had a strong night last night as well behind the wheel of the No. 54 Toyota by leading 29 laps of the event. Kyle did not get the finish he wanted though as the No. 22 Ford finished two positions behind them. Last night he posted his sixth top-10 finish in seven total starts at the 1.5-mile Homestead-Miami Speedway.

Austin Dillon came home in the 12th position after an up and down evening but was just enough to capture the 2013 NASCAR Nationwide Series championship. He won by just three points over Sam Hornish, Jr. and became the first driver to do so without winning a race. Last season Dillon won the NASCAR Nationwide Series Sunoco Rookie of the Year award. He also did the same thing in 2010 and 2011 in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series.

With Logano’s finish of sixth in the No. 22, he earned Roger Penske the owner points championship by edging out just one point in front of Joe Gibbs Racing’s No. 54 Toyota.

The next race for the NASCAR Nationwide Series will be in three months at the Daytona International Speedway.

Brett Winningham
Follow Me