Armed Forces Members To Be Honored With Free Admission At Macon IL Speedway

17 May 2019
226 times

This coming Saturday night, May 18, Macon Speedway will honor those who fight for our freedoms, as it is time for the annual Armed Forces Night. Active and retired military members will receive free grandstand admission once showing proper military ID at the ticket window.  Six divisions of racing are on the card.

Coming into the night, three nights of racing have been held with the other two nights resulting in rainouts.  In the Decatur Building Trades DIRTcar Pro Late Models, Dakota Ewing is on top of the point chase, garnering two feature wins in a row and setting a new qualifying track record.  Carlinville, IL’s Cody Maguire is second in the standings with a pair of top five finishes, while Donny Koehler, Chris Dick, and Blake Damery round out the top five in points out of the 23 drivers who have competed in the division this season.

Last year’s Modified champion is again off to a good start with the point lead this year.  It’s New Berlin, IL’s Tommy Sheppard, Jr., who currently holds a 12 point advantage over last year’s Pro Late champion, Guy Taylor, of Springfield, IL.  Jared Thomas, Alan Crowder, and Rodney Standerfer are currently in the top five.  31 different Modified drivers have been on track already this year.

The strongest division, when it comes to large numbers, is the Neal Tire & Auto Pro Mods.  Nearly 50 drivers have been to the track this year with Decatur, IL’s Nick Justice leading the points, having grabbed two top fives in three starts.  Mt. Olive, IL’s Tim Hancock won the first two races of the season but had a DNF in the third race due to mechanical issues.  Hancock is second in points, while Chad Evans, Billy Nail, and Troy Medley complete the top five.

The DIRTcar Sportsman have raced twice so far this season and Springfield, IL driving veteran, Dennis Vandermeersch is batting 1.000, winning both.  Last year’s champion, Tim Bedinger, has a pair of top fives and sits second in points, while Scott Landers, Terry Myers, and Mitch Ringler round out the top five.

A longtime driving veteran is off to a good start in the Archer’s Alley Street Stock class, as Monticello, IL’s Darrell Dick leads the way.  Dick has claimed a feature win as have the second and third place point contenders.  Dick is followed by the brothers’ Reed.  Gene Reed is second in points, while Terry Reed is third.  Bub Russell is currently fourth with Andy Zahnd rounding out the top five.

Decatur, IL’s Brady Reed is following in the footsteps of his older brother, Jeremy, having a strong start in the Hornet class.  While Jeremy has moved on in hopes of competing in the Street Stock class, Brady has won two of three features and leads the standings.  Billy Mason is second in the current standings, while Carter Dart, Marty Sullivan, and Michael Abbott complete the top five.  30 different Hornet drivers have raced so far this year, many of which are tuning up for the June 8 Ed Cain Trucking Hornet Challenge which will pay $1,000 to win.

Grandstand admission is just $12 on Saturday night for adults, while kids 11 and under are free.  As previously mentioned, military members, active and retired will also receive free grandstand admission if they show proper military ID at the ticket window.

For more information and the full upcoming schedule, visit

Macon Speedway PR

Rate this item
(0 votes)
Steven B. Wilson

Follow us on Twitter @SpeedwayDigest

Cookies make it easier for us to provide you with our services. With the usage of our services you permit us to use cookies.
Ok Decline