Opening Night Summer Sizzler Wins to Pahule, Christensen, Stepps, and Sherman at Delta Speedway

The annual Summer Sizzler for Micro Sprints at Delta Speedway presented by Valley Strong Credit Union saw Jeffery Pahule, Cody Christensen, Hayden Stepps, and Hayden Sherman “park it” in victory lane with $500 wins. A strong field of 78 cars were in action at the 1/7th mile at the San Joaquin County Fairgrounds.
In Non-Wing competition, Bakersfield’s Jett Yantis led qualifying before the four heat races were split by Nick Ringo, Khloe Cotton, Nikko Panella, and Colin Kirby. After a B-Features, the 20-car field was set for the 30-lap feature.
Jeffery Pahule of Brentwood and Mattix Salmon of Fresno paced the field from their front row starting positions. Pahule accumulated a two second advantage as the field headed into lapped traffic at the halfway point.
Pahule tagged Idaho’s Teddy Bivert, one of the B-Feature winners, with Bivert flipping hard for a red flag. He was uninjured. Pahule charged ahead of Salmon on the restart before action was halted again for Cole Frerichs of Wheatland flipping in turn two on lap 25.
Pahule led the final five laps for victory over Salmon, Fresno’s TJ Smith, Tucker Lacaze of Rocklin, and Stockton’s Nikko Panella.
For the winged Super 600 competitors, it was Khloe Cotton scoring fast-time while Salmon and Pahule won the heat races. Nikko Panella and Jett Yantis were the front row starters for the 30-lap feature. Yantis slowed on the backstretch on the opening lap and collected Fresno’s Raio Salmon to bring out the caution.
Pole sitter Panella accumulated a strong advantage as the field darted in and out of lapped traffic while Salmon and Cody Christensen battled for second. A caution for an issue for Alex Panella brought the leaders back together. Nikko Panella suffered a mechanical issue in turn two, ending his bid for the win on lap 16.
Christensen inherited the lead and never relinquished it throughout the second half of the feature. Salmon, Pahule, Visalia’s Jett Barnes, and Madera’s Logan Trevino rounded out the top-five.
Arizona visitor Jace Thurein led Restricted time trials with Brycen Roush and Brodie Copeland claiming the 10-lap heat races.
The 25-lap Restricted race lined up the top two in the points with Vacaville’s Jackson Tardiff and Oakdale’s Hayden Stepps on the front row. Stepps took the lead on the outside with immediate effect. Dean Skrifvars of Castro Valley crashed on the front stretch for the first stoppage on lap 12.
Stepps dominated the final 13 laps followed by Tardiff, 2023 Jr. Sprints champion Briggs Davis of Manteca, Thurein, and Castro Valley’s Cam Carraway.
Four heat races were staged for Delta Speedway’s youngest competitors in Jr. Sprints with Haven Sherman, David Anderson, Easton Wright, and Heston Stepps taking the wins.
Those heat races set the stage for a 20-lap main event. Wright and Anderson were the top-two starters. Wright and Sherman jumped ahead of the pack at the start. Sherman then used lapped traffic to make a three-wide maneuver to nab the lead in turn one on lap seven.
Two-time 2024 winner Heston Stepps of Oakdale crashed in turn two on lap 13. Sherman held off Mackcen Roush over the final seven circuits for the win. Wright settled for third ahead of Anderson and Logan Banks of Bakersfield.
Delta Speedway presented by Valley Strong Credit Union races again Saturday night June 15 for night two of the Summer Sizzler.
Delta Speedway Stockton thanks: Valley Strong Credit Union, Interstate Truck Center, Pape Kenworth, Hoosier Racing Tire, Scully’s Air, Genova Bakery, Van De Pol Petroleum, Belkorp Ag, Solari’s Backhoe, Baker Roofing, City Wide Graphics, Jay’s Mobile Welding, Acrisure, East Bay Tire, Hunt and Sons, Cal-Waste Recovery Systems, PMP Chassis, and Clean Brothers Site Services for their support of the 2024 racing season!
Delta Speedway Results – June 14, 2024 Summer Sizzler Night No. 1
SUPER 600 (30 LAPS)
Feature (30 Laps): 1. 14-Cody Christensen[4]; 2. 5-Mattix Salmon[5]; 3. 44X-Jeffery Pahule[6]; 4. 55-Jett Barnes[8]; 5. 7T-Logan Trevino[13]; 6. 4-Jett Yantis[2]; 7. 32A-Colton Huelsmann[12]; 8. 10R-Rylee Whitehouse[14]; 9. 75-Josiah Vega[15]; 10. 4K-Khloe Cotton[20]; 11. 5C-Cody Frerichs[18]; 12. 27-Ron Singh[17]; 13. 23C-Cierra Wullenwaber[19]; 14. (DNF) 14M-Drake Carter[9]; 15. (DNF) 30-Isabel Barnes[1]; 16. (DNF) 73-Nikko Panella[3]; 17. (DNF) 10P-Peyton Whitehouse[16]; 18. (DNF) 12-Alex Panella[7]; 19. (DNF) 19-Tucker LaCaze[11]; 20. (DNF) 21-Raio Salmon[10]
A Feature 1 (30 Laps): 1. 44X-Jeffery Pahule[1]; 2. 5-Mattix Salmon[2]; 3. 14-TJ Smith[3]; 4. 19-Tucker LaCaze[4]; 5. 73-Nikko Panella[10]; 6. 81-Dalton Hill[6]; 7. 2B-Eric Botelho[8]; 8. 25R-Brody Rubio[7]; 9. 4-Jett Yantis[17]; 10. 55-Jett Barnes[11]; 11. 83K-Colin Kirby[14]; 12. 77-Sage Bordenave[20]; 13. 37H-Ryan Holden[13]; 14. 75M-Dan Mognaga[15]; 15. 4K-Khloe Cotton[9]; 16. 7-Quinn Thurein[16]; 17. 29V-Vito Celli `[19]; 18. (DNF) 4Q-Nick Ringo[12]; 19. (DNF) 75-Cole Frerichs[5]; 20. (DNF) 8G-Teddy Bivert[18]
A Feature 1 (25 Laps): 1. 98-Hayden Stepps[2]; 2. 38J-Jackson Tardiff[1]; 3. 96-Briggs Davis[4]; 4. 5-Jace Thurein[6]; 5. 27C-Cameron Carraway[5]; 6. 9J-Levi Osborne[12]; 7. 17B-Brycen Roush[8]; 8. 10-Brodie Copeland[7]; 9. 11A-Austin Lee[11]; 10. 69-Logan Reeves[14]; 11. 26-Kourtney Baker[9]; 12. 84-Johnny Bolanos[13]; 13. (DNF) 59K-Kaiden Gowen[3]; 14. (DNF) 10D-Dean Skrifvars[10]
Feature (20 Laps): 1. 12-Haven Sherman[3]; 2. 17M-Mackcen Roush[7]; 3. 11E-Easton Wright[1]; 4. 3D-David Anderson[2]; 5. 7-Logan Banks[6]; 6. 25DD-Samantha Dozier[10]; 7. 1Z-Zachary Williams[13]; 8. 7L-Lucas Fenn[11]; 9. 99-Heston Stepps[4]; 10. 95L-Logan Fenn[8]; 11. 3B-Boston Banks[5]; 12. 92-Jett Bacigalupi[9]; 13. 9-Edward Olvera[12]
2024 Delta Speedway Schedule (Subject to Change)
April 6 Opening Day – RAINED OUT
April 20 Race #2
May 11 Race #3
June 14 & 15 Race #4 & 5
July 5 & 6 Speedweek**
July 27 Race #6
August 17 Race #7
August 31 & September 1 Race #8 & 9
October 4 & 5 Race #10 & 11
October 25 & 26 Turkey Bowl XXV**
**Non-points races

Delta Speedway PR