Maybury Material Handling Returns to Stafford Speedway Contingency Program for 9th Consecutive Season

  • For the 9th consecutive season, Maybury Material Handling of East Longmeadow, MA, will be a first place contingency program partner at Stafford Motor Speedway. Maybury will present a weekly bonus of $150 to each SK Modified® winner and a $150 bonus to each SK Light feature winner. With 22 SK Modified® and 23 SK Light races on the schedule, Maybury will contribute a total of $3,300 to SK Modified® feature winners and $3,450 to SK Light feature winners. Maybury Material Handling will also serve as the title sponsor of the August 30 Back to SKool Night.

“We’re still excited to be involved with Stafford Speedway and to be a part of the contingency program,” said John Maybury of Maybury Material Handling. “We really like a lot of the drivers in the SK Modified® and SK Light divisions and I think Stafford has done a great job of blending youth with some of the older drivers. Between the Kids Night Big Wheel races and Wild Thing Karts, we’ve seen a lot of drivers come up through there that have moved up to either the SK Light or SK Modified® divisions and beyond, so it gives us a lot of pleasure to be involved and Stafford is a great track for us to be involved with.”

The 2023 season was one of the most competitive seasons in the division’s history in the SK Modified® division with 10 different drivers reaching NAPA Victory Lane over 17 races. Todd Owen, who won his third consecutive championship in 2023, led all drivers with 3 wins. Scoring two wins each were Michael Christopher, Jr., Cory DiMatteo, Stephen Kopcik, Keith Rocco, and Marcello Rufrano. Single event feature winners included David Arute, Jimmy Blewett, Michael Gervais, Jr., and RJ Marcotte.

The SK Lights saw 6 different feature winners over 15 races. George Bessette, Jr., Tyler Chapman, and Brian Sullivan were the big winners of last season with each driver notching 4 wins. With those 3 drivers accounting for 12 of the division’s 15 feature wins, the season was rounded out with single feature wins going to Tyler Barry, Meghan Fuller, and Chris Matthews. Matthews’ feature victory was the 20th SK Light win of his career, which is the all-time record thus far at Stafford with Joey Ferrigno in second place sitting on 17 career wins.

Stafford Speedway PR