Wednesday, Dec 06

After spinning from the lead early in the race and then working his way back to the front of the field, Brandon Jones heads to victory lane in the Corrigan Oil 200 from Michigan International Speedway in the ARCA Racing Series presented my Menard’s. This is Jones’ second consecutive victory at Michigan

“It was crazy for sure. Our car went a way a little bit. We were dominant right there early on. I told my crew we needed a little more front turn and I don’t know if the track heated up because the sun started coming out. All in all, a great day,” said Jones to Fox Sports 1 post-race in victory lane.


Early in the race, Jones was leading the race, but hit oil on the track and went for a spin. Jones was able to stay on the lead lap. After hitting pit road, Jones worked his way back to the front of the field. Jones worked his way up to the second position, but was battling a loose race car. Jones was able to pass Kyle Weatherman in the final 10 laps of the race as Weatherman hit the wall and made his way to pit road. Jones led

Austin Theriault finished in the second, Dalton Sergeant finished third, Bret Holmes finished fourth, and Gus Dean finished in the fifth position after receiving a flat tire on the last lap.


Next up for the ARCA Racing Series is a trip to Madison International Speedway on June 23rd at 9:00 p.m. EDT on MavTV.

TALLADEGA, Al.— As many drivers were losing fuel, Justin Hayley will win a relatively calm General Tire 200 from Talladega Superspeedway. A late race caution from a spin by Bret Holmes on the white flag lap left the race with a one lap shootout. Brandon Lynn ran out of fuel under the yellow flag which gave Justin Hayley the lead.

“That was crazy. Qualifying got cancelled and we had to work our way from the back. We had some ignition issues halfway through the race. We had to race back through it. I can’t say enough about these MBM Motorsports guys. I always wanted to run ‘Dega. I can’t thank MBM guys enough,” Hayley told Fox Sports 2.

This is Hayley’s first career ARCA superspeedway win. He outlasted Andy Seuss by 0.108 seconds. This is Hayley’s 13th ARCA start

For Suess, his day was relatively quiet. Suess was able to work his way to the second position in the General Tire 200.

Spencer Davis finished third. Austin Theriault was up front for most of the race, but finished fourth. Shane Lee was also up front for most of the race and rounded out the top-five.

While all his competitors for the points lead crashed, Theriault was able to extend his points lead. Theriault also led the most laps at 24.

Next up for the ARCA Racing Series is a trip to Toledo Speedway. The race will be live on MAVTV and on May 21st beginning at 2:00 p.m. EST.

The ARCA Racing catapults to Talladega Superspeedway for the General Tire 200. This is the fourth race on the ARCA schedule. There have been three different winners in three different races for ARCA. This is the second and final restrictor plate event for ARCA of 2017.

37 drivers are slated to attempt to qualify into Friday’s race. With a full field being considered 40 in ARCA, all drivers will be able to compete in the race. Notable drivers in the field include Noah Gragson with Venturini Motorsports and Justin Haley with MDM Motorsports.

This is the final race using the steel-bodied cars in ARCA. ARCA is moving from steel bodies to composite bodies at Talladega and Daytona. These bodies will be mandatory in the 2018 season.

Hayley will be making his first career superspeedway start this weekend in Talladega. Hayley currently races in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series with GMS Racing.

"I am so excited to get behind the wheel of the MDM Motorsports ARCA Racing Series car this weekend," said Haley. "They always show phenomenal speed and contend for wins when they show up to the track. Restrictor plate racing is something I've always wanted to do and I am thankful for the opportunity to do so at Talladega. Having my truck series crew chief Kevin Bellicourt on the pit box this weekend will be an excellent resource.”

Gragson will be making his second start in the ARCA Racing Series in 2017.  This is Gragson’s third start with Venturini Motorsports.

“I’m excited to make my first start at Talladega,” said Gragson. “These big tracks can be intimidating going into your first race. Thankfully I’ve got a couple restrictor plate starts under my belt now, giving me some personal experience to lean on going into this weekend. I think that’s a huge confidence booster. I’m excited to reunite with the Venturini bunch and race for win.”

The first ARCA race at Talladega Superspeedway took place in 1969 making this the 52nd race run here. Bill Venturini set the qualifying record back in 1987 at 205.432 mph. Grant Adcox set the race record in 1986 at 173.947 mph. Only 20 Races have been won from the pole position. Adcox also holds the most wins at Talladega at five.

The ARCA Racing Series will be broadcasted live on Fox Sports 1 at 6:00 p.m. EST. Live timing and scoring can be seen at

TALLADEGA, Al.-- ARCA officials have cancelled today's qualifying session for the General Tire 200. Early morning rains at Talladega Superspeedway have forced the cancellation of qualifying. The field will be set by the 2016 owners points. 

With the chance of rain dwindling through the day, ARCA Officials hope to get in an abbreviated practice session.

Dalton Sargeant will start from the pole today. Noah Gragson, Tom Hessert, Austin Theriault, and Kyle Weathermen hold the top-five positions. 

The General Tire 200 from Talladega Superspeedway will be broadcasted live on Fox Sports 1 shortly after 6:00 p.m. EST.



With five laps remaining, ARCA Officials declared Austin Theriault the race winner of the thrilling  Lucas Oil 200. The race was declared official due to time constraints and the time to fix a punctured SAFER Barrier following an accident that saw Justin Fontaine go on his roof on the frontstretch.

Fontaine has been transported to a local hospital for further evaluation.

Theriault was able to grab the lead from Terry Jones shortly before the caution flag that ended the race.

When the green flag flew with less than 10 laps remaining, Theriault and Lee were dead even for over a lap and a half. With the help from Dalton Sargeant, Theriault edged in front of Jones before the caution flew with five laps remaining.

“It was such an awesome race. The guys gave us a really good car. I think that if we went back green, we would’ve been fine. This car was that strong,” said Theriault in victory lane.

The win by Theriault, with the help of Ken Schrader Racing, kicks off a run for the ARCA Racing Series championship.

This is Theriault’s second career ARCA win in his third start. His first win came at Michigan in 2015. Ken Schrader Racing scores their third Daytona ARCA win, their first since winning back-to-back in 1994 to 1995.

Jones finished second, Shane Lee finished third, Sargeant was fourth, and Tom Hessert rounded out the top-five.

Page 1 of 3

No right click

Please link the article.