John McCoy Named 48th Auto-Racing Promoter of the Year at 51st Annual RPM@Daytona Workshops at the Shores Resort & Spa

John McCoy of Knoxville, IA, who promotes the Knoxville Raceway in Knoxville, Iowa was introduced as the 48th annual Auto-Racing Promoter of the Year this afternoon at the 51st Annual RPM@Daytona Workshops presented at the Shores Resort & Spa in Daytona Beach, Florida, representing Region Five, the Midwest / Great Plains Region as part of the RPM balloting.

“This has been a long journey,” stated McCoy, who is the promoter at Knoxville Raceway. “This award isn’t just about me, it’s about everyone that has been involved in my career. Ralph Capitani, also won this award and it’s a great honor to follow in his footsteps. It is humbling and one of the greatest honors you can ever receive in our sport. This means a great deal to me. We all work extremely hard and to be recognized like this is just incredible. Racing has been our lives and the track means so much to me. We all pour our heart and soul into it this, we hope to carry on the tradition for many years to come.”

McCoy was previously named regional promoter of the year by the RPM Workshops in 2022.

Susan Deery of Rockford, Ill., was announced as the second annual recipient the Jody Deery Award named after her late Mother. The Jody Deery Award named after the late promoter of Rockford (Ill.) Speedway has become a highly anticipated award as part of the Workshops. Susan Deery managed Rockford Speedway during it’s final season this past year, with overflowing pit areas and large crowds at every event, Rockford Speedway’s “Final Lap” season was a tremendous success steered by Sue Deery and her family.

Region One, Eastern Region; Brett Deyo from Utica-Rome, Fonda in N.Y., and Georgetown Speedway in Delaware. Region Two, Southeast Region; Wendall Durrance from All-Tech Speedway in Lake City, Fla.; Region Three; Kevin Gundaker from Tri-City Speedway in Granite City, Ill.: Region Four, Northern Region; Doug Johnson, Huset’s Speedway in Brandon, S.D., and Region Six; Southwest and Western Region, Michelle Lackey-Maynor, Alaska Raceway Park in Palmer, Alaska were all honored as regional award winners respectively. Features regarding these winners may be found in upcoming RPM Newsletters at

The 5th Annual Gerald Haers Memorial at Land of Legends Raceway in Canandaigua, N.Y., promoted by Paul Cole was presented the RPM Outstanding Event of the Year.