Virginian Glen Wood Elected to 2012 NASCAR Hall of Fame

NASCAR announced today its 2012 Hall of Fame class, which includes Virginia’s own Glen Wood, who laid the foundation for the famed Wood Brothers Racing team as a driver in NASCAR’s premier series. Competing on a semi-regular basis, Wood won four times; but, he is best known for his collaboration with brothers Leonard and Delano in Wood Brothers Racing. The Stuart, VA-based team, which dates to 1950 and remains active, has amassed 98 victories, with the most recent one earlier this season at the Daytona 500, where Trevor Bayne bested the field.

“Glen Wood is very deserving of his election into the 2012 NASCAR Hall of Fame and we are very proud of this selection,” said Richmond International Raceway president Doug Fritz. “Glen and his family have been fielding cars for some of the best drivers in the history of NASCAR and they have represented the Commonwealth of Virginia and the entire motorsports community at a top level ever since breaking into the sport more than 60 years ago.”

Of the Wood Brothers Racing victories, two of them came at Richmond International Raceway – with drivers Speedy Thompson in 1960 and Kyle Petty in 1986.

The remainder of the 2012 NASCAR Hall of Fame includes Cale Yarborough, Darrell Waltrip, Dale Inman and Richie Evans.