NCWTS: Ten Cautions Slow Alpha Energy Solutions 250 at Martinsville

The Alpha Energy Solutions 250 provided an action-packed day at Martinsville Speedway on Saturday. The 250 lap, 131.5-mile event at the half-mile Virginia oval saw 10 cautions over the course of the event.

It wasn’t long before the field of 32-trucks slowed after receiving the green flag. On lap three, Bryce Napier went around in his No. 1 Chevrolet in turn one. The team quickly took the truck behind the wall and was done for the afternoon. Nobody received the free pass as the field went back green on lap eight.

The second incident of the afternoon involved a pair of trucks in turn three. This would involve Joe Nemechek and Cody Coughlin. Both drivers continued as Wendell Chavous got the free pass. The field went back green three laps later.

The end of stage one brought out the next yellow on lap 70. Chase Elliott, who led every lap of the race to this point, won this stage of the event. Johnny Sauter, Matt Crafton, Christopher Bell, Brant Enfinger, Chase Briscoe, Timothy Peters, Noah Gragson, Ty Dillon and John Hunter Nemechek rounded out the top 10. The No. 16 of Ryan Truex received the beneficiary.

The next yellow came at lap 92 for the No. 44 of Brandon Brown in turn four. Brown could continue in his Chevrolet to finish 27th on the leaderboard. The No. 92 of Regan Smith received the free pass as the field went back green on lap 96.

Five laps later the two trucks of Noah Gragson and Chase Briscoe made contact in turn two to bring out the fifth yellow of the day. The two drivers could continue in their trucks with minimal damage. The No. 66 of Ross Chastain received the free pass under this yellow flag.

John Hunter Nemechek developed a mechanical issue that caused him to move slow around the race track around lap 117. Nemechek, trying to get the truck to re-fire, eventually stopped on the track two laps later. Nemechek’s Chevrolet went behind the wall for a short period of time before returning onto the track. The No. 63 of Kyle Donahue received the lucky dog.

The next yellow flag came out with three laps remaining before the end of stage two. It involved Brett Moffitt, eventual race winner Chase Elliott, and Ross Chastain in turn four. Johnny Sauter went on to win this stage of the race in his No. 21 Chevrolet. Matt Crafton, Chase Briscoe, Timothy Peters, Grant Enfinger, Justin Haley, Harrison Burton, Kaz Grala, Christopher Bell and Tyler Young rounded out the top 10. The No. 75 truck of Caleb Holman received the free pass.

Eleven laps later the field slowed again for an incident involving Austin Hill, Kaz Grala, and Harrison Burton in turn four. All three trucks continued despite it being a multi-truck crash. Wendell Chavous, who received the free pass under the second caution period of the day, also got the free pass under the ninth stoppage.

The final yellow of the day was displayed on lap 235 in turn one. It involved race leader Christopher Bell, Kyle Donahue, and Austin Cindric with 15 laps remaining. The incident put Bell third for the restart and could never catch Chase Elliott for the lead in the closing laps of the race. Bell went on to finish third behind second-place finisher Johnny Sauter.

The race elapsed two hours, one minute and 38 seconds and had an average speed of 64.867. The margin of victory was 1.865 seconds and had three leaders for four lead changes.

Brett Winningham

Brett has been following the sport of NASCAR since the beginning of the 2006 NASCAR Sprint Cup season. Since Brett was 13, he has had a passion of chasing a job in sports that not many get the opportunity of doing. He has been in the NASCAR media since the middle of the 2010 season. Since then, he has been a part of many racing podcast shows to improve his talents. You can find him on twitter @NASCAR_Brett.