KBM Boasts Three of the Most Successful Individuals in History of NCWTS

As the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series (NCWTS) prepares to celebrate its 400th race Saturday at Kansas Speedway, the individual accomplishments  of   Kyle Busch, Rick Ren and Eric Phillips over the first 399 races rank among the most celebrated in series history.

Kyle Busch – Owner/Driver

NCWTS Career Highlights:

·         Tied with Mike Skinner and Jack Sprague for second most wins in NCWTS history with 28

·         Winning driver/owner in closest margin of victory in NCWTS history (.002-seconds over Aric Almirola in the Mountain Dew 250 at Talladega Superspeedway on October 30, 2010)

·         Youngest driver (20 years, 18 days) in NCWTS history to win a race (Quaker Steak & Lube 200 at Charlotte Motor Speedway on 5/20/05)

·         119.6 career driver rating entering the 2011 season is the highest accumulated by a NCWTS driver since the stat was introduced in 2005

·         Average career finish of 7.1 ranks first among active drivers with 10 or more career starts

·         Has won 30.7% of the NCWTS races he has entered and finished first or second in 49.4%

·         In 2010 KBM became the first team to win an owners’ championship in its inaugural season since the NCWTS originated in 1995

Most Memorable Experience in the NCWTS:

“I’ve had a lot of memorable moments in the truck series — winning a championship in my first year as an owner, my first-ever truck series win at Charlotte, the fantastic finish last year at Talladega and getting the sweep started in the trucks at Bristol all quickly come to mind – it’s been a great series to be a part of as both a driver and now an owner. But, if I have to pick one moment that stands out above the rest, the most memorable would have to be my first win as an owner last April at Nashville Superspeedway. It was extremely rewarding to see the hard work of everyone involved at KBM come to fruition. Having the first win come at the hometown track of Dollar General in their first race as a primary sponsor of our Toyota Tundra was icing on the cake. That win seemed to be the spark that helped propel us to more wins and an owners’ championship in our first season. It also was instrumental in developing our relationship with Dollar General into something bigger this season.”

Rick Ren – General Manager

NCWTS Career Highlights:

·         Winningest crew chief in NCWTS history with 27 wins

·         Has gone to victory lane an additional 13 times as an executive at KBM — making him a part of one in every 10 wins in NCWTS history.

·         Has won two NCWTS championships as a crew chief and one as a General Manager

·         Won a NCWTS record five consecutive wins with driver Ron Hornaday Jr. in 2009

·         Has collected NCWTS wins with five different drivers (Hornaday Jr., Johnny Benson Jr., Travis Kvapil, Rick Carelli and Andy Houston)

Most Memorable Experience in the NCWTS:

“I’ve had a great career in the truck series and have many memorable moments. To pick out one individual moment as my favorite — that’s a tall task. The championships were all great. Leading a rookie to his first win, winning at Dover the day I met my wife, the look on Kyle’s face last year at Nashville when he won for the first time as an owner — looking back, those were all pretty cool moments. Probably winning five consecutive races with Ron Hornaday Jr. in 2009 would have to be my biggest accomplishment.  Not only was it a truck series record, it tied a 38-year old NASCAR record. The way things played out in each of those races in order to win five consecutive, you couldn’t write the script any better. The stars and the moon lined up pretty good.”

Eric Phillips – Crew Chief

NCWTS Career Highlights:

·         Winningest active NCWTS crew chief with 23 career wins — which also ranks him third on all-time list

·         Crew Chief for Toyota’s first-ever NASCAR touring series victory (Travis Kvapil at Michigan International Speedway on 7/31/04)

·         Has collected NCWTS wins with five different drivers (Busch, Kvapil, Dennis Setzer, Clint Bowyer and Mike Skinner)

Most Memorable Experience in the NCWTS:

“Being the crew chief for Toyota’s first-ever NASCAR win is definitely my most memorable experience in the truck series. I still have the trophy at home and it brings back great memories.”


Kyle Busch Motorsports PR

Speedway Digest Staff
Latest posts by Speedway Digest Staff (see all)