Saturday, Sep 30

MENCS: Kevin Harvick wins Foxwoods Resort Casino 301

Kevin Harvick won Sunday's Foxwood Resort Casino 301 at New Hampshire Motor Speedway in a thrilling finish against Denny Hamlin.

Harvick and Hamlin made contact with each other several times over the last lap before Harvick would pull away from Hamlin coming to take the checkered flag.

For Stewart-Haas Racing, this is their first win of the 2019 NASCAR Monster Energy Cup Series season.

Hamlin made contact with Harvick's rear bumper in Turn 1, sending Harvick up the track and allowing Hamlin to take the lead. After the two drivers dragged raced down the backstretch, Harvick pulled ahead and Hamlin went to driver No. 4's outside as the two drivers entered Turn 3.

Driver No. 4 moved up the track as they both exited Turn 4 and Hamlin made contact with his left-front fender before Harvick raced to the checkered flag.

"Hamlin go to me, he tried to move me out of the way down there and i knew that was coming as close as he was," Kevin Harvick told NBCSN post-race. "So i just stood on the brakes and i'm like half throttle down the back straightaway. I'm like, you're not getting under me again and he drove to the outside of me and i just waited till he got near me and i just put a wheel on him."

Sunday's win ends a 21-race for Kevin Harvick, who last won at Texas Motor Speedway in November of 2018. Rounding out the top five were Denny Hamlin in second, Erik Jones in third, Ryan Blaney in fourth and Matt DiBenedetto in fifth.

Hendrick Motorsports had a weekend to forget as Chase Elliott had an engine issue and finished 29th and Jimmie Johnson lost power steering and finished 30th. William Byron did finish 12th and Alex Bowman, who was driving Jimmie Johnson's backup car after a mechanical problem in qualifying and a practice crash with Bowman's own backup car on Saturday during practice. Bowman would finish 14th.

The NASCAR Monster Energy Cup Series will head into Pocono Raceway at 3:00 p.m. Eastern on July 28th on NBCSN.

Stage 1 Winner: Kyle Busch

Stage 2 Winner: Aric Almirola

Race Winner: Kevin Harvick


No right click

Please link the article.