NASCAR WIRE: Countdown to the DAYTONA 500: 4 days to go

Countdown to the DAYTONA 500: 4 days to go

4: The number of drivers who have won back-to-back DAYTONA 500s. Richard Petty, who won the Great American Race a record seven times, was first to accomplish the feat in 1973-1974. Cale Yarborough followed in 1983-1984, claiming the last two of his four DAYTONA 500 victories. In 1994-1995, Sterling Marlin won his only two DAYTONA 500s back-to-back, driving the No. 4 Chevrolet for Morgan-McClure Motorsports. It wasn’t until 2019-2020 that Denny Hamlin added his name to the list, winning the race for the second and third times, most among active drivers. Defending DAYTONA 500 winner Ricky Stenhouse Jr. will try to join the exclusive club on Sunday. – Reid Spencer

Tune-in to the 2024 DAYTONA 500 on Sunday, February 18 at 2:30 p.m. ET on FOX, MRN and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio.