Countdown to the DAYTONA 500: 10 days to go

10: Only once has a car bearing the No. 10 won the DAYTONA 500. The year was 1990, and NASCAR Hall of Famer Dale Earnhardt was powering into Turn 3 with the lead on the final lap at the World Center of Racing when he ran over a piece of the bell housing from Rick Wilson’s car, which had blown its engine with seven laps left. Earnhardt slowed, with his right rear tire punctured, and Derrike Cope flashed past in the No. 10 Whitcomb Racing Chevrolet to take the checkered flag and claim NASCAR’s most coveted trophy. Earnhardt wouldn’t break his DAYTONA 500 jinx until 1998, when he won the Great American Race for the first and only time. – Reid Spencer

Tune-in to the 2024 DAYTONA 500 on Sunday, February 18 at 2:30 p.m. ET on FOX, MRN and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio.