David Starr Will Drive For Obaika Racing At Talladega Superspeedway

David Starr Will Drive For Obaika Racing At Talladega Superspeedway Obaika Racing Photo

Obaika Racing announced today that David Starr will pilot the No. 97 VroomBrands Toyota Camry in Sunday's 1000BULBS.COM 500 at Talladega Superspeedway, Obaika's Racing debut race in the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series.

“I'm very excited to be racing Talladega Superspeedway in the No. 97 Toyota,” said Starr. “I've had some great runs there in the Trucks and the Xfinity Series, and I can't thank Victor (Obaika, team owner) enough for bringing me on board for his debut as a Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series owner.”

A veteran driver in racing, Starr has made over 400 starts across NASCAR's top three series with four wins in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series. This will be Starr's first Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series race at Talladega Superspeedway. Previously, Starr's best finish at the Alabama track is second place in the 2013 Truck Series race.

Space Grill will continue to be on board as an associate sponsor. As part of their partnership, Obaika Racing and Space Grill are offering fans the chance to join the team in Talladega for the 1000BULBS.COM 500 (or any other upcoming NASCAR race of their choice). Fans of the team can purchase a Space Grill at a race team discount, and their purchase also includes an exclusive race weekend experience. The race weekend experience will include 2 HOT passes that will give them access to the garage and pit road at Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series race of their choice in 2019 or to any races that the team enters during the 2018 season, as well as lunch with the Obaika race team at the team hauler and a meet-and-greet with the driver. Visit the team website to purchase.

Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series practice at Talladega Superspeedway is scheduled for 10:05 a.m. CT (11:05 a.m. ET) followed by qualifying at 3:35 p.m. CT (4:35 p.m. ET) on Saturday. The 1000BULBS.COM 500 will get the green flag at 12:55 p.m. CT (1:55 p.m. ET) Sunday on NBC.

Obaika Racing PR

Rate this item
(0 votes)
Steven B. Wilson

Follow us on Twitter @SpeedwayDigest