NCWTS: William Byron Captures Ford EcoBoost 200 Pole

William Byron will start on the pole in the season finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway in his No. 9 Liberty University Toyota. Byron posted a 31.600, 170.886 mph. in the final round of qualifying. It marks the second weekend in a row that the young driver has started from the pole.

Byron started on the pole and dominated the field at Phoenix International Raceway last weekend. Despite leading 112 of 150 laps, Byron’s engine expired and destroyed his championship hopes. He goes into the evening looking to capture his seventh victory of the season.

Cole Custer will start right beside Byron in the No. 00 Haas Automation Chevrolet for JR Motorsports. Custer posted a 31.616, 170.800 mph. in the final round of single truck qualifying. The 18-year old driver enters the evening looking to capture his third career Camping World Truck Series win.

Kyle Larson will round out the top-three starters in the Ford EcoBoost 200. Larson ended the first round in fourth and posted a 31.725, 170.213 mph. in the final round of qualifying. The California native knows his way around the 1.5-mile oval as he won this event in 2014.

Matt Crafton will be the highest starting Chase driver in the season finale. Crafton enters the night looking to score his third career Camping World Truck Series championship in his No. 88 Menards Toyota Tundra.

Another Chase driver, Christopher Bell, will be the next highest Chase driver in the starting lineup. Bell comes into the race as the underdog and rookie driver. Can Bell score his first championship? We’ll find out later on this evening.

Timothy Peters, a series veteran in the Camping World Truck Series, will have some work to do if he wants to become the 2016 champion. Peters will start the race in the 13th starting spot as he races for his first ever NASCAR championship.

Johnny Sauter will have even more work to do than Peters. Sauter will start 19th in his No. 21 GMS Racing Chevrolet. Sauter, like Bell and Peters, will be racing for his first ever championship in the series.

Three drivers did not qualify for the race as 35 appeared on the entry list. Those were Tommy Joe Martins, Jennifer Jo Cobb and Norm Benning.

Rate this item
(0 votes)
Brett Winningham

Brett has been following the sport of NASCAR since the beginning of the 2006 NASCAR Sprint Cup season. Since Brett was 13, he has had a passion of chasing a job in sports that not many get the opportunity of doing. He has been in the NASCAR media since the middle of the 2010 season. Since then, he has been a part of many racing podcast shows to improve his talents. You can find him on twitter @NASCAR_Brett.

Cookies make it easier for us to provide you with our services. With the usage of our services you permit us to use cookies.
Ok Decline