Byron Claims Phoenix Pole

William Byron will start from the pole in tonight’s Lucas Oil 150 from Phoenix International Raceway. Byron set a new track record in all three rounds set by Erik Jones. This is his second pole of the 2016 season. 

Byron was fastest in the first round at a speed of 137.926 mph or 26.101 seconds. Rico Abreu was second at 136.867 mph. John Hunter Nemechek was third fastest in this round at 136.452 mph. Christopher Bell was fourth at 136.348 mph. Ben Rhodes rounded out the top-five at 135.517 mph. Tommy Regan was the lone driver who will not be able to race in tonight’s race. All drivers in the Chase advanced to the second round.

Byron was also fastest in the second round at 137.968 mph. Daniel Suarez was second at 136.939 mph, Johnny Sauter was third at 136.721 mph, Nemechek was fourth at 136.612 mph, and Cameron Hayley rounded out the top-five at 136.420 mph. Ben Kennedy was the only Chase driver who did not advance to the third and final round, he will start 18th. 

Byron was fastest in the third and final round at 138.254 mph. Suarez qualified second at 137.757 mph. Abreu qualified third at 147.195 mph. Sauter qualified fourth at 137.129 mph. Bell rounded out the top-five at 136.830 mph. 

The Lucas Oil 150 is set to begin at 10:00 p.m EST on Fox Sports 1 and Motor Racing Network. 

Rate this item
(0 votes)
Caleb Whisler

I am 19 years old from Atlanta, GA. I have been following motorsports since I was born. Motorsports has been "passed down" in my family. I am named after NASCAR Hall of Famer, William Caleb Yarborough, also known as Cale. Growing up in the southeast, racing was something that was a Sunday tradition after church. What an honor it is to share that passion with others.

Cookies make it easier for us to provide you with our services. With the usage of our services you permit us to use cookies.
Ok Decline