2nd Annual Joey Coulter Karting Challenge Raises $20,000 Donates Custom Power Wheelchair to 3-year-old

On October 7, NASCAR Camping World Truck Series driver Joey Coulter, hosted his 2nd annual Joey Coulter Karting Challenge at GoPro Motorplex in Mooresville and raised approximately $20,000 to benefit the Darrell Gwynn Foundation (DGF), which donated a custom power wheelchair to Mackenzie Michel during the event. The annual two hour endurance kart race, which pairs 22 NASCAR drivers with teams of three, was made possible by Allegiant Travel, Smokey Mountain Herbal Snuff, Arthur Krenzel Lett Insurance Group, Edgehill Management Group and Carolinas HealthCare System.

In its inaugural year, the event raised over $15,000 for the Florida-based foundation. This year, DGF donated a $19,000.00 custom power wheelchair to three-year-old Mackenzie Michel during the event. Mackenzie was diagnosed with Cerebral Palsy and referred to (DGF) by Carolinas HealthCare System. In her new, bright pink custom power wheelchair, Mackenzie attended the event with her family and enjoyed her newfound mobility by chasing her older brother around GoPro Motorplex and interacting with the drivers and their teams. Mackenzie even served as the honorary race starter, waving the green flag. Mackenzie’s mother, Andreanna, thanked everyone for their support, “I just wanted to say thank you again, last night was amazing and we are so grateful to all those involved. We truly enjoyed the event and the feeling of love and family everyone showed Mackenzie. Thank you.”


The event was established by NASCAR driver Joey Coulter in 2013 as a unique way to raise money for the (DGF). “I could have done a golf tournament or something else [something I’m not terrible at], but I wanted to do something similar to what we do on a weekly basis with no stress or pressure, just a lot of fun with no tension, just raising money for a good cause and for a really great family. Three-year-old Mackenzie received her wheelchair tonight and it’s amazing to see somebody’s life change that fast.  I can’t wait until next year!”


Drivers who participated in the event included Joey Coulter, Brian Vickers, Max Papis, Todd Bodine, Kenzie Ruston, Spencer Gallagher, Max Gresham, Grant Enfinger, Ross Chastain, John Hunter Nemechek, Gray Gaulding, Brennan Newberry, Matt Crafton, Brandon Jones, Jamie Dick, Patrick Staropoli, German Quiroga, Tyler Reddick, Chris Buescher and Cole Custer. Gray Gaulding, driver of the No. 20 Chevrolet for NTS Motorsports in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, and his team consisting of Jason White, Matt Ross and Lou Tomarchio, took home first-place honors and the prestigious “Champion of the Cup” award at the event.


GMS Racing PR

Speedway Digest Staff

Follow us on Twitter @SpeedwayDigest