Wayne Hammond Wins Reutimann Foundation 50 for Open Wheel Modifieds

Four divisions were on hand tonight for the next to last night of the 2011 Season. Gagel’s Open Wheel Modifieds ran a 50 lap feature event for the David Reutimann Foundation.

David held his annual charity auction last night at the Silverado Country Club in Zephyrhills. One of the prizes to bid on was a ride along with David in the 2-seater Late Model. Eric Kovach was the lucky winner and got his ride during intermission. Eric was seen waving to the crowd almost each lap. One lucky fan also was awarded as tickets were sold and over $500 was raised for David’s Foundation. Troy “Sox” Dittebrand was the lucky winner. Dittebrand, the current point leader for the Motorstats.com 4 Cylinder Bombers division.

The first feature of the night went to the Street Stocks. When the green flag waved, Garry Sheffield took the early lead. The first caution came out for Locke Brown as he spun on the backstretch. Jim Baker, Billy Carlbert, Jr. and Tim Gay were right behind Sheffield when the green flag waved again.  But on the restart, Baker, Carlbert, Jr and Gay tangled up in turn two, bringing out another caution sending them to the rear of the field.  That brought Donnie Reed right on the back bumper of Sheffield. On lap seven Reed took over the top spot and never looked back as he went on to win the feature. Sheffield, Buck Woodhouse, John Kinsey and Thomas Burnside were your top five. Sheffield and Carlbert, Jr. won their heats.

The next feature went to the Outlaw 4’s. Shirlene Hammond and Jesse Brown made up the front row. Hammond took the early lead, but on lap two, the first caution came out as John Yates spun in turn two.  On lap six, Billy Howard and Hammond were side by side at the line and Howard took over the lead the following lap. Caution once again came out which put Hammond right on the back bumper of Howard with Nick Hebrank right behind Hammond. Green once again waved as Hammond hounded Howard and retook the lead on lap nine and never looked back. Hammond picked up her third win of the season. Hebrank finished second with Howard third. Stephen Hohlbaugh and John Yates rounded out your top five. Howard and Hammond won their heats.

Next up was the David Reutimann Foundation 50 for the Gagel’s Open Wheel Modifieds. Rich Pratt, Austin Sanders and David Reutimann won the heat races. On the front row were team cars, Kyle Bronson on the pole with Wayne Hammond on the outside. When the green flag dropped, Kyle Peterson and Dale Kelley tangled in turn three ruining their nights early on. On the restart, Bronson took the early lead with Devin Dixon right on his back bumper. On lap ten, Dixon charged into turn three trying to take the lead, but it was Bronson with the slide job taking the lead back. Several cautions came out thru out the race. On lap twenty seven, Roger Crouse and Buzzie Reutimann  tangled in turn two sending Reutimann to the pits but he was able to return and remain on the lead lap. On lap thirty seven, Buzzie appeared to jump the cushion with Crouse trying to avoid but ended up in the wall, ending his night.  On lap forty, Travis Varnadore and Bobby Dixon tangled on the front stretch with Dixon almost turning over, but was able to keep rubber side down. Dixon’s car had too much damage and was not able to continue.  Once again on lap forty three, it was Dixon diving to the inside in turn three trying to the take lead from Bronson, but was not able to make the move stick.  When the checkered flag dropped, it was Kyle Bronson in Victory Lane. Wayne Hammond finished second, David Reutimann third, with Rich Pratt fourth and Dixon fifth. But after tech was done, it was Bronson dq’d for being to light handing over the win to Wayne Hammond. So the top five then became, David second, Pratt third, Dixon fourth and after starting in the rear and going off the track at one point was Buzzie Reutimann finishing fifth.

The final event of the evening went to the Motorstats.com 4 Cylinder Bombers. Steve Hadding and Troy Dittebrand made up the front row.  Dittebrand took the early lead and had the rest of the field chasing him. First caution came out for Hadding spinning on the front stretch. On the restart, Dittebrand took command once again with Patrick Fiore right on his back bumper. Several more cautions came out and brought Fiore back behind Dittebrand. Dittebrand was able to hold off Fiore until lap thirteen when Fiore took the top spot and went on to win the feature.  Johnnie Alexander finished second with Dittebrand third. Kayla Jones fourth and Richard Humfeld fifth. But after the race was over, the claim rule was put into affect as Robert Kissam went to buy the 88x, but was refused to sell. So that handed the win over to Johnnie Alexander. Dittebrand now finished second with Jones third, Humfeld fourth and Don R. Quinn moved into the top five.

ASA sanctioned racing returns to East Bay Raceway Park next week, December 17, 2011 for the final event of the 2011 season. It will be the fourth and final event of the Donnie Tanner Memorial Series Race in the “Run Whatcha Brung” $3,000 to win. Along with them will be the Street Stocks, Outlaw 4’s Motorstats.com 4 Cylinder Bombers and the Dirt Daubers. The racing begins at 6:30 p.m. tomorrow night. For more information, go to www.eastbayracewaypark.com or call the track office.

ASA Racing PR

Last modified on Monday, 12 December 2011 21:10