Dillon Motor Speedway’s Season Ends In Great Fashion

Wednesday, Nov 02 11300

Dillon Motor Speedway hosted the last race weekend of the year this past weekend from October 28 through 30.

The drivers took to the track for the “8th Annual Fall Spectacular”. Race teams from all over the southeast gathered to battle it out for the trophy, purse and the bragging rights of being a winner at Dillon Motor Speedway.

The race weekend kicked off on Saturday when the UCARs took to the track. The feature came down to the wire, and in the end, Lynn Waller edged Josh Dean for the win. Aaron Miller, a past winner at the speedway rounded out the top three. Travis Miller finished fourth, and Mark Dean finished fifth.

On Sunday, the speedway hosted the “Gone But Not Forgotten Sunday.” Throughout the day, the speedway took a few moments to honor drivers, owners and team members who were no longer with the community. Jordan Performance gave a bonus to all of the pole sitters, and Steve Howell Performance Parts gave a bonus to the drivers who gained the most positions in their feature.

The Four Cylinders were the first to hit the track on Sunday. Emory Herring captured his first win of the season at the speedway. Kevin Jackson, the 2011 Four Cylinder track champion was the runner up. AJ Sanders finished third, and David Jeffcoat finished fourth. Art Chambers rounded out the top five.

The Late Model feature was extremely clean with only a few single car spins. Robert Powell led the first 61 laps, but he had to settle for a twelfth place finish. Jamie Weatherford went to Victory Lane capturing his first win of the season at the speedway. On the cool down lap, Weatherford put on quite a show as he lit the tires up during the Victory Lane celebration. Archie Adams Jr. finished second, Kenny Brooks third, Michael Elliott fourth and Scott Wise rounded out the top five.

Curtis Peeples led the majority of the Street Stock feature as he went to Victory Lane on Sunday. Ricky Locklair Sr. fought his way through the pack to finish second and Tommy Poole finished third. Gary Ledbetter finished fourth, and Regina Weatherford finished fifth after a late race spin on the backstretch.

Hal Goodson led the entire 100 lap Super Truck feature this past weekend. He also won the John Newsome Parts of Hartsville’s crate engine drawing. Archie Adams Jr. captured his second runner up finish of the night as well as the Hard Charger Award. Jody Measamer ran in second most of the night, but he had to settle for a third place finish. Kevin Parsons finished fourth, and Bryan Blackwell finished fifth after running in the top three most of the night.

Mike Watts led all 40 laps in the Charger feature. Brad Dewitt was right on Watts’ bumper, but he couldn’t close the deal and finished second. Dewitt also made a huge comeback after being involved in a lap 11 accident. Michael Williamson finished third, and Kevin Ellis finished fourth. Late Model regular Ryan Hall rounded out the top five.

The Mini Cup Stock division ended the night in great fashion. Going into the race Carl Britt and Bill Willis were tied for the points lead. On lap 19, Willis went for a spin on the backstretch ultimately narrowing his chance to win the championship. However, within the closing laps Carl Britt’s chain came off of his engine bringing a sudden stop to his championship hopes. In the end, Willis passed the entire field and went to Victory Lane capturing the trophy, purse, and the track championship. Chris Connor finished second, Dean Tambert third, Steve Chauncey fourth, and Jessica Poland fifth. Nicholas Robinson won the Mini Cup Jr. feature.

Dillon Motor Speedway appreciates all of the support from the team owners, drivers, sponsors and of course the fans who make every weekend a reality. Keep checking the speedway’s Facebook and Twitter pages for pre-season updates. The 2012 racing season will be one to look forward to as the staff has many new ideas set to take place once the season gets underway.

Dillon Motor Speedway PR